Mildred Pugmire Lundquist b. 15 June 1911, d. 30 September 2001

Life History Written by Mildred Pugmire Lundquist

Transcription by Jill Ann Londelius Holmes (granddaughter). Original document in the possession of Jill Holmes.

Pugmire, Mildred b. 1911

I was born in South Morgan, Morgan, Utah on June 15, 1911. I was delivered by my father Dr. C.C.R. Pugmire, born July 7, 1880 in St. Charles, Idaho to Vincent Pugmire and Nancy Emeline Rich Pugmire. My mother was born to John Smuin & Harriet Barker Smuin in Ogden, Utah, April 26, 1881, was one of 12 children and my father one of six, all boys. I had one brother, seven years older than I, born in Afton, Wyoming, August 25, 1904.

My uncle had the only grocery store in South Morgan & we used to take eggs to him & trade for candy. If our chickens hadn’t laid any, then I would take some from the neighbors. I entered school when I was six years old and one of the thrills was being able to ring the school bell so I used to go early so I could always be first in line and if I was a little late, I had a boy friend who would get in line for me.

We had a canal that ran by our house that we called the “Big Ditch.” I had a St. Bernard dog named Caesar and whenever I got near the “Big Ditch”, he would squeeze between me and the canal so I wouldn’t fall in. He used to entertain me for hours by digging holes in the back yard to hear me laugh. One time he saved me from a rattlesnake that was already to strike. Someone poisoned Caesar and as we had company, we didn’t discover it until it was too late. My Dad had his skin tanned & he used it as a rug in his office.

When I was 7, we moved to North Morgan in a big two story house. I used to walk about a mile to school and in the winter sometimes the snow would get pretty deep. We had three grades in classroom. One day a week all the kids would clean up the school yard, raking leaves and burning them. We had a good country life. I remember, as a kid, bands of gypsies would come thro the countryside and there was a rumor they would steal children so when we heard they were near, all the mothers would gather the children inside. There were lots of tramps that rode the rails of the railroad which passed thro the center of town & they knew my dad was the Dr. in the county, so they would get off the train & come to the house begging for something to eat & mother always fixed them a meal & sent them on the way. Once in a while one of them would want drugs & when my folks didn’t give them any, they would break down & cry and said they were so ashamed.

When I was nine years old, my father went to Europe to specialize in Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat. My mother brother, and I moved to Salt Lake City, where my father was going to practice medicine when he returned from Europe. It was then my brother told me there was no Santa Claus and I was heartbroken. I enrolled in Webster grade school where I met several girl friends that I kept up through High School.

When my father returned we moved in a larger home and I went to Roosevelt Jr. High School. In Jr. High School my father took my tonsils out. After Jr. High School, I attended East High School. When I was a sophomore, I had a bad cold and I insisted on going to a school party against my folks advice. I came down with a high fever and couldn’t sleep at night. Our next door neighbor was an M.D. and he thought I had diphtheria so he took a culture which was negative. I was real sick for a couple of weeks.

During this time my brother returned from a mission in Germany and he and a neighbor administered to me. He said he felt a presence in the room and that night I slept for the first time in two weeks and my temperature went back to normal. I was back in school in a week. It was a real testimony.

After graduating from High School, I went to the University of Utah where I majored in speech and music and minored in psychology. While I was at the U, I joined Alpha Delta Pi Sorority where I was social director and Theta Alpha Phi (speech fraternity) I graduated from the U in 1932 and following graduation I gave private speech lessons and gave readings at various clubs and organizations.

Lundquist, Mildred Pugmire oval

In 1934 I moved to Eagle Rock, CA & stayed with an Uncle and Aunt (Frank & Ruby Smuin) until I could get situated. In about two months, I moved into the Hollywood Studio Club. In enrolled in Woodbury College and took a Studio Script Course. One of my roommates at Studio Club was Mary Miller and while attending Woodbury College, we worked part time at Universal Studios typing scripts. Her brother worked for Walt Disney Studio and I had him illustrate a poem I had written to my father for his birthday. After finishing the course at Woodburg College, I moved into an apt. [apartment] with a girl friend, I got a job in Cameo Picture Corporation & worked as a private sec. to the Director, Producer.

While living at Frank & Ruby’s I met Geo. [George Lundquist] Ruby’s brother who was later to become my husband. Our first date was to a wrestling match then we went to several midget auto races. At the same time I was going with Geo. I also went with another fellow, Harvey Searing, mainly because he liked to dance and Geo. didn’t. In April of 1936, I quit my job went back to Salt Lake to announce my engagement & have my appendix out. When I returned to Calif., I moved in with Geo sister, Elsie in Santa Monica.

Lundquist, George

Sept 18, 1936, Geo. & I were married in the Wee [sic] Kirk o’the Heather in Glendale. After our honeymoon to Catalina, Avalon Island, we went to Huntington Park to live in an apt. we had wonderful neighbors and we all went to the beach everyday as most of the men worked nights. I taught Sunday School. Nothing of any consequence happened until our son Charles Fred was born Aug 1, 1941 in Southgate Hospital. Dr. Wilcox, a friend of my fathers was the Dr. Our landlord didn’t want children in the apt. so we had to find a place to live. Geo. had just started in the building trade.

When the war broke out Dec. 7, 1941, my folks who had moved to Calif. because my father had retired, had to move back to Salt Lake to take over my brother’s practice while he served in the armed forces. My folks were in the process of buying a home in San Gabriel at this time so they gave it to us when they returned to Salt Lake. Geo. had to give up building because everything was frozen and he had to go into defense work. Because of gas rationing, the neighborhood had parties for entertainment. Once a month we took turns entertaining the other neighbors. There would be about 30 people. Geo. was assistant air raid warden and during our black outs, he would don his gas mask and make a survey of the neighborhood to see no one had any lights on. It was somewhat of a chore to feed Fred. I had a hot plate I took into the closet and closed the door to heat his bottle. Once we had company and they couldn’t leave to go home so we set up a card table in the bathroom and played cards, as we only had 2 small windows to cover with black cloth.

The war over things returned to normal and Geor. Went back into the building trade, getting his contractors license. Our daughter, Nancy Ann was born July 24, 1945 in California Lutheran Hospital in L.A. Dr. Thompson was the obstetrician. Both Fred and Nancy attended McKinley grade school in San Gabriel. Mrs. White was the kindergarten teacher for each of them.

We had a dog named Butch and a cat named Boots. Butch always followed the kids to school and during singing practice he always “sang” along with them. The kids gave him gum to chew so they could laugh at him. He was the school clown & very often the principal would make Fred take him home and along with a neighborhood boy, he would carry him about 6 blocks. One day Butch was run over by a truck and everyone felt badly including the Mayor of San Gabriel, a neighbor.

In 1951 we sold our home in San Gabriel. We were building our own home in Covina, which Geo. designed himself. As it wasn’t completed enough to move into, we had to move into a motel, where we lived, along with our cat, for 3 months, while Nancy & Fred still attended school. We moved to Covina Oct 31, 1951. Fred attended Covina school and Nancy attended Barranca school. We were surrounded by hills and fields and the kids really enjoyed roaming. Our cat enjoyed it too, bringing home a gopher every day. Where we lived was called Vallecito.

Fred started a little neighborhood newspaper and Nancy helped him deliver it. Nancy took accordion lessons and Fred played Little League Baseball, so we were kept busy going to ball games and recitals. I worked in Primary and Relief Society. Where Nancy started Mutual I became Sec. In 1953 my father became ill and I took Nancy out of school & went back to Salt Lake where we stayed with my mother for 7 weeks. A neighbor took care of Fred until Geo. got home from work. While in Salt Lake, I enrolled Nancy in school in the class my cousin Jo Ann taught. I finally returned home and had only been home a week when my father died, Nov 23, 1953 and we all returned to the funeral. Soon after, my mother stored her furniture, and came to live with us. We gave her our bedroom & we slept in the den. In 1960 mother went back to visit my brother & while there, she fell & was in the hospital for a while. During Easter vacation, Nancy & I went back to see her. She was coming back after we got home but had a back set & died April 11, 1960. In 1962 we built a home in Glendora but couldn’t move in until we sold our home in Covina which took a year. July 3, 1963 we moved in. I worked on the Relief Society Stake Board. After my mother died, I bought an organ and Nancy & I both took lessons. She was very good.

[This portion was written by Nancy Ann Lundquist Londelius, daughter, for her mother.]
On Dec 18, 1964, Nancy married Michael Ward Londelius in West Covina. They lived in Pomona while Mike finished college at Cal Poly, Pma. [Pomona] They were sealed in the L.A. temple on Jan. 9, 1965.
On August 25, 1967 [Actual date is August 27, 1967] our first granddaughter was born. Jill Ann is her name.

On April 6, 1970, our second granddaughter was born. They named her Tricia Kaye.

Nov. 10, 1973, Geo. retired from his business & on Nov 12 he went into the hospital for eye surgery to removed cataracts on his left eye. Within 7 days he had another operation on the same eye. During the next year, he had 4 operations. After his recovery, we started going on several trips. A cruise to Mexico, So. Amer, & thru the Panama Canal, to Alaska, Hawaii (our 40th anniversary) & Tahita. On Feb 13, 1977, our first grandson was born. His name is Ryan Michael. Our son, Fred has still not married & all our grandchildren are Nancy’s children. In July 1977, Nancy, husband & family moved to No. Cal. where Mike works for Mervyn’s Dept. store.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Ann Lewis Personal History, Family History, Lundquist Family, Smuin Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

