Jacob and Charlotte Bushman: “Prepare to meet us in heaven.”

jacob-charlotte-bushman-headstone-fairview-town

In a country cemetery in Fairview Utah stands a pioneer headstone with Jacob and Charlotte Bushman’s names on it.  The monument stone no longer stands straight, but the sentiments on the stone are sure.

The first time I found their resting place and the stone marking it, I was stopped in my tracks when I read words on the stone.  They pierced me to the heart. Etched into stone, I read, “Prepare to meet us in heaven.”  It was as if I heard their voices imploring me to be good and to keep the faith they stood for and died for.  All I could think of was, “I must” and “I will.”

Those words still burn in my heart as I gather stories of Jacob and Charlotte and their posterity.  I hope every day to meet them in heaven when my turn here is over.  I hope I will be faithful to the end as they were.

I found these words, written by Jacob in the transcript of his autobiography, “And may the Lord help us to be faithful to the end is my constant prayer.”  [Jacob Bushman, autobiography, typescript, BYU, Pg. 5.]

My prayer joins theirs.  I hope we all will be prepared to meet them some day.

Here is an aerial view of the upper and lower cemeteries in Fairview.  Charlotte died in Nov 1899 and was one of the first to be buried in the upper cemetery on the left.aafairview-cemetery-arial

Here are some views of their headstone:
charlotte-turley-bushman-headstone-fairviewcharlotte-turley-bushman-headstonefairview-cemetery-37fairview-cemetery-39jacob-bushman-headstone-fairviewjacob-bushman-headstone

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Bushman Family, Family History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

