Arthur Laemmlen and Grace Helen Smuin wed 26 June 1954

Laemmlen, Art & Grace Registry of Marriage

Today is the anniversary of my parents’ wedding day.  Here is an excerpt from my mother’s personal history, written in 1989:

Art and I were married June 26, 1954, in the Chapel of Roses in Pasadena, California. It was a simple civil ceremony with family and close friends. (Wedding financial statement here)The Bishop of my parents’ ward performed the ceremony and we recited to each other from memory the vows we had written:

“I, Grace, take Thee Arthur, to be my wedded husband; And I do promise and covenant; Before God and these witnesses; To be thy loving and faithful wife; In plenty and in want; In joy and in sorrow; In sickness and in health. Where you go, I will go; And where you lodge, I will lodge; Your people shall be my people; And your God shall be my God for as long as we both shall live.”

“I, Arthur, take Thee Grace, to be my wedded wife; And I do promise and covenant; Before God and these witnesses, To be Thy loving and faithful husband; In plenty and in want; In joy and in sorrow; In sickness and in health; Forsaking all others and keeping myself only and ever for you; Enfolding you in my love as Christ did His Church; Until God by death shall separate us.”

Following the wedding we said good-bye to our families for the two years we would be away. Art would be serving as a 1-W in Voluntary Service as Administrator of Brook Lane Hospital in Hagerstown, Maryland. I would be teaching 2nd grade, and a 3rd/4th grade in Hagerstown and Leitersburg for the next two years. After the wedding, we were off on a one-month honeymoon touring and sight-seeing across the United States. We visited Hoover Dam, Bryce and Zion National Parks, Salt Lake City, Yellowstone, and many points of interest as we traveled across the country. We didn’t have much money so sometimes we camped along the way and tried to find motels for under $5.00 a night. We bought our food in grocery stores and stopped for picnics under trees along the side of the road. We stopped in Pueblo, Colorado, to visit Art’s friends where he had worked for two years. We continued on to Hagerstown, Maryland, where we were to settle for the next two years.

Laemmlen, Art & Grace 1956 passport

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Arthur & Grace Laemmlen Family, Family History, Laemmlen Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

