Remembering Emanuel Richard Lundquist b. 13 March 1867

Lundquist, Emanuel Richard

I Remember My Father
(The following was written by Elsie Lundquist McNabb Saye in August 1998, telling some of her remembrances of her father, Emanuel Richard Lundquist.)

At this writing I am almost 94, and as I look back I can say the guidance and foundation in the Church my parents gave me, and especially my father who was widowed and left with seven children (Lucille having died as a child) from ages three to eighteen when he was in his 40s. My father was sincere and faithful in his love and devotion to the gospel, and he instilled the same in us children as we grew up. He and mother provided a good foundation which was a vital bulwark and strength to me throughout my life as I went through the trials of life.
Lundquist, Emanuel Family, Ivn, Clarence

He was a man of many gifts. He built our two-story home on 579 Fifth Ave., with a grocery store on the right side. We had a ward within walking distance, and were faithful in attending. We learned to work and help, and my father kept an account book of our tithing with the money we earned. We had family prayer morning and night, each taking a turn. I remember seeing him give the Sacrament prayer with his right hand uplifted and saying it in his slightly broken Swedish accent. He had us each one baptized at age eight, and usually soon after we were given our patriarchal blessing. He was the scribe for mine. We were taught to fast for at least one meal on Fast Sunday. Sacrament meeting was at 2 o’clock, and we fasted until we got back from that. We had a housekeeper at first, and then Ada Rosa Flory came as a housekeeper, and he found in her a good, faithful Latter-day Saint, whom he married. They had four children who have all been good brothers and sisters to me.

Lundquist, Emanuel and Ada
Emanuel and Ada Rosa Flora

 

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Family History, Lundquist Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

